Select Page

Police Commission


The duties and powers of the Police Commission are prescribed in Indiana State Law and include the following:

      • The board may appoint, subject to the qualifications for employment determined by the board and approved by the town legislative body, as many persons as necessary to serve in the police department of the town. One (1) person shall be appointed to serve as the police chief. The board may also appoint other employees that are necessary to carry on the work of the police department.
      • The board may recommend and the town legislative body shall determine the compensation to be paid to members of the police department in amounts that are just and reasonable.
      • All persons appointed must be of good moral character and serve only during good behavior. The board constitutes the safety board of the town for purposes of the suspension, demotion, or dismissal of any member of the police department. Proceedings for the suspension, demotion, or dismissal of any member of the police department shall be conducted in the manner prescribed by IC 36-8-3-4. The disciplinary provisions of IC 36-8-3-4.1 also apply to the safety board and the police chief.
    • The board may make general and special rules for the government and discipline of the police department and may make special and general orders to the department through the police chief, who is the executive head of the department.

Current members of the Metropolitan Police Commission are:

    • Jim Olthoff
    • David Villalobos
    • Charlie Kaper


Artboard 1