March 3, 2020

Special Public Meeting Advertised for 7:00 PM Conducted at the Cedar Lake Town Hall Pledge of Allegiance & Moment of Silence



Roll Call:

Present	Robert H. Carnahan	Ward 1	Present	Colleen Schieben	Ward 6
	Board Member			Board Member	
Present	John Foreman	Ward 2	Present	Richard Sharpe	Ward 7
	Board Member			Board President	
Present	Julie Rivera	Ward 3	Present	Jennifer N. Sandberg	
	Board Member			Clerk-Treasurer, IAMC	
Present	Ralph Miller	Ward 4	Present	Jill Murr, CPM, IAMC,	MMC
	Board Vice President			Town Administrator	
Present	Randell Niemeyer	Ward 5	Present	David Austgen	
	Board Member			Town Attorney	

NEW BUSINESS

1. AES Proposal

Randy, Rick and Neil met with the Baker Family to discuss an alternate location for the water tower. Mr. Niemeyer explained the proposal was for soil bearings on two additional sites.

A motion to approve AES proposal in the amount of \$4,950.00 was made by Robert Carnahan with second by John Foreman. President Sharpe called for a voice vote. Voice vote: 7 Ayes 0 Nays.

2. Water Rates

Mr. Niemeyer explained last year's work with the IURC and OUCC for updating the system development charges. It was ordered the Town look at a single rate for all Water Utility customers to fulfill the Town's obligation agreed upon. The rates are needed to sustain the Water Utility. This is a recommendation for the water rates that will be presented to Council. It is a three hundred day process with the IURC and OUCC. Mr. Austgen added this is the first rate increase since acquiring the Utilities. The system development rate increase was a cost for developers approved by the IURC. Mr. Niemeyer discussed future growth, infrastructure needs and projects that will benefit from the rate increases.

A motion to send a favorable recommendation to Council for the Water Rate Proposal was made by Randy Niemeyer with second by Julie Rivera. President Sharpe called for a voice vote. Voice vote: 7 Ayes 0 Nays.

ADJOURNMENT President Sharpe adjourned the meeting at approximately 7:15 PM.

TOWN OF CEDAR LAKE, LAKE COUNTY, INDIANA MINUTES OF THE UTILITY BOARD

TOWN OF CEDAR LAKE, LAKE COUNTY, INDIANA UTILITY BOARD

Richard Sharpe, President	Ralph Miller, Vice President
Robert H. Carnahan	John Foreman
Julie Rivera	Randy Niemeyer
ATTEST:	Colleen Schieben

Jennifer N. Sandberg, IAMC Clerk-Treasurer

The Minutes of the Cedar Lake Utility Board are transcribed pursuant to IC 5-14-1.5-4(b), which states:

- (b) As the meeting progresses, the following *memoranda* shall be kept:
- (1) The date, time and place of the meeting.

(2) The members of the governing body recorded as either present or absent.

(3) The general substance of all matters proposed, discussed, or decided.

(4) A record of all votes taken, by individual members if there is a roll call.

(5) Any additional information required under IC 5-1.5-2-2.5.