

CEDAR LAKE REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES Cedar Lake Town Hall, 7408 Constitution Avenue June 4, 2024, at 6:30 pm

Call To Order:

Mr. Thiel called the meeting of the Redevelopment Commission to order on Tuesday, June 4, 2024, at 6:39 pm, with its members attending on-site. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

Roll Call:

Members Present: Robert H. Carnahan; Julie Rivera; Nick Recupito; Chuck Becker, Vice President; Greg Parker; Mary Joan Dickson; Richard Thiel, President. A quorum was attained.

Members Present Via Zoom: None

Also present: Tracy Haskell, Hanover School District Liaison; Jennifer Sandberg, Clerk-Treasurer; David

Austgen, Town Attorney; Jeff Bunge, Town Manager; and Cheryl Hajduk, Recording Secretary.

Absent: Tim Vassar, Crown Point School District Liaison

Consent Agenda:

Mr. Thiel advised the first item on the agenda is the Consent Agenda for approval of the April 2, 2024, Meeting Minutes and the monthly claims, Fund No. 404: \$1,163.82 and Fund No. 804: \$37,535.19 and entertained a motion for the same.

Mr. Carnahan commented on the VS Engineering and that is for the sidewalk project that has not been approved yet. Ms. Sandberg commented these claims are for preliminary engineering that was previously approved. Discussion ensued.

A motion was made by Ms. Dickson and seconded by Mr. Recupito to approve the consent agenda. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

Robert Carnahan Aye
Julie Rivera Aye
Nick Recupito Aye
Chuck Becker Aye
Greg Parker Aye
Mary Joan Dickson Aye
Richard Thiel Aye

New Business:

1. Nominate the Explore Everyday Community Recognition Q2 Recipient – Kelly's Kernels or The Hill

Mr. Thiel stated the first order of new business is to discuss Nominate the Explore Everyday Community Recognition Q2 Recipient to award in July 2024.

Ms. Rivera nominated The Hill.

A motion was made by Ms. Rivera and seconded by Mr. Becker to nominate The Hill for Explore Everyday Community Recognition. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

Robert Carnahan	Aye
Julie Rivera	Aye
Nick Recupito	Aye
Chuck Becker	Aye
Greg Parker	Aye
Mary Joan Dickson	Aye
Richard Thiel	Aye

2. Resolution No. RDC 2024-1: The Capture of Incremental Assessed Values within the 133rd Avenue Economic Development TIF Allocation Area

Mr. Thiel stated the next order of new business is for Resolution No. RDC 2024-1: The Capture of Incremental Assessed Values within the 133rd Avenue Economic Development TIF Allocation Area.

Mr. Becker read the Resolution out loud.

Mr. Austgen stated this is the annual action of the Redevelopment Commission of the intent to capture increment for the next upcoming year from your TIF District. The reason for establishing the TIF District and this resolution is the annual requirement under Indiana Code 36-7-14. With the consideration, you will preserve the collection of the TIF revenues on a semi-annual basis and the funds will be available from those distributions for your debt service and obligation which those funds have been collected.

A motion was made by Mr. Parker and seconded by Mr. Recupito to approve Resolution No. RDC 2024-1. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

Robert Carnahan	Aye
Julie Rivera	Aye
Nick Recupito	Aye
Chuck Becker	Aye
Greg Parker	Aye
Mary Joan Dickson	Aye
Richard Thiel	Aye

RDC Public Meeting June 4, 2024

3. Resolution No. RDC 2024-2: The Capture of Incremental Assessed Values within the US 41 South TIF Allocation Area

Mr. Thiel stated the next order of new business is for Resolution No. RDC 2024-2: The Capture of Incremental Assessed Values within the US 41 South TIF Allocation Area.

Mr. Becker read the Resolution out loud.

Mr. Austgen stated there are two TIF Districts in the Town and this is the second and newest of the allocation areas on Route 41. The same process follows and the same process applies that the Resolution is for the same purpose. They are different because they are two different allocation areas.

Mr. Carnahan commented the revenue is expected to be \$50,000, but no expenditures according to the worksheet.

A motion was made by Ms. Dickson and seconded by Ms. Rivera to approve Resolution No. RDC 2024-2. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

Robert Carnahan	Aye
Julie Rivera	Aye
Nick Recupito	Aye
Chuck Becker	Aye
Greg Parker	Aye
Mary Joan Dickson	Aye
Richard Thiel	Aye

School Board Liaison Comments:

Ms. Haskell commented we have decided to meet a couple times a year and we will meet again next week. This is a good start to the year and projects were able to be completed.

Written Communications:

Mr. Austgen commented there will be a written communication regarding the taxing units of the action taken by the Commission to declare the determination to capture increment.

Public Comment: None was had.

Adjournment: Mr. Thiel adjourned the meeting at 6:53 pm.

TOWN OF CEDAR LAKE REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

Robert H. Carnahan, Member
Nicholas Recupito, Member
Greg Parker, Member
Mary Joan Dickson, Member
iviary Joan Dickson, ivicinisci
Julie Rivera, Member
Chuck Becker, Vice President
Richard Thiel, President
ATTEST:
Cheryl Hajduk, Recording Secretary

These Minutes are transcribed pursuant to IC 5-14-1.5-4(b) which states:

- (b) As the meeting progresses, the following memoranda shall be kept:
- (1) The date, time, and place of the meeting.
- (2) The members of the governing body recorded as either present or absent.
- (3) The general substance of all matters proposed, discussed, or decided.
- (4) A record of all votes taken by individual members if there is a roll call.
- (5) Any additional information required under section 3.5 or 3.6 of this chapter or any other statute that authorizes a governing body to conduct a meeting using an electronic means of communication.

Minutes of June 4, 2024