

CEDAR LAKE REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES Cedar Lake Town Hall, 7408 Constitution Avenue April 4, 2023, at 6:30 pm

Call To Order:

Mr. Foreman called the meeting of the Redevelopment Commission to order on Tuesday, April 4, 2023, at 6:30 pm, with its members attending on-site. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

Roll Call:

Members Present: Robert Carnahan; Ralph Miller; Colleen Schieben; Richard Sharpe, Vice-President; John Foreman, President. A quorum was attained.

Members Present Via Zoom: None.

Also present: Tracy Haskell, Hanover School District Liaison; Tim Vassar, Crown Point School District Liaison; Margo Nagy, Chief Deputy Clerk on behalf of Jennifer Sandberg; Chris Salatas, Town Manager; David Austgen, Town Attorney; and Cheryl Hajduk, Recording Secretary. **Absent:** Nick Recupito; Jennifer Sandberg, Clerk-Treasurer

Presentation: "Explore Everyday Community Recognition" – Hoosier Postal Plus – Mike Quirk and Lynn Sarkisian, Owners

Mr. Foreman stated they would like to do a presentation "Explore Everyday Community Recognition" and this particular award is going to Hoosier Postal Plus – Mike Quirk and Lynn Sarkisian.

Mr. Mike Quirk commented he wanted to thank Mr. Nick Recupito for nominating them. The support from the Town has been unbelievable and they want to thank the Redevelopment Commission for recognizing them and visiting them. Hoosier Postal Plus does courier services, printing, laminating, and notarial services.

Mr. Foreman read the award letter dated April 4, 2023 to the recipients.

Consent Agenda:

Mr. Foreman advised the next item on the agenda is the Consent Agenda for approval of the March 7, 2023, Meeting Minutes and the monthly claims, Fund No. 404: \$0 and Fund No. 804: \$24,346.25 and entertained a motion for the same. A motion was made by Ms. Rivera and seconded by Ms. Schieben to approve the consent agenda. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

RDC Public Meeting April 4, 2023

Robert Carnahan	Aye
Ralph Miller	Aye
Julie Rivera	Aye
Colleen Schieben	Aye
Richard Sharpe	Aye
John Foreman	Aye

New Business:

1. Explore Everyday Community Recognition Nomination:

Mr. Foreman asked the Commission if there was a business they would like to nominate for next month and the Commission discussed the potential of nominating PhysioPoint for this month. A brief discussion ensued. A motion was made by Mr. Miller and seconded by Ms. Schieben to nominate PhysioPoint. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

Robert Carnahan	Aye
Ralph Miller	Aye
Julie Rivera	Aye
Colleen Schieben	Aye
Richard Sharpe	Aye
John Foreman	Aye

Written Communications: None was had.

Public Comment: Mr. Austgen advised he will be working with the Town Manager and the Clerk Treasurer for next year's TIF Funds.

Adjournment: Mr. Foreman adjourned the meeting at 6:42 pm.

TOWN OF CEDAR LAKE REDEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

John Foreman, President

Richard Sharpe, Vice-President

Ralph Miller, Secretary

Robert Carnahan, Member

Julie Rivera, Member

Nicholas Recupito, Member

Colleen Schieben, Member

ATTEST:

Cheryl Hajduk, Recording Secretary

The Minutes of the Cedar Lake Plan Commission Meeting are transcribed pursuant to IC 5-14-15-4(b) which states: (b) As the meeting progresses, the following memoranda shall be kept:

(1) The date, time, and place of the meeting.

- (3) The general substance of all matters proposed, discussed, or decided.
- (4) A record of all votes taken by individual members if there is a roll call.

(5) Any additional information required under section 3.5 or 3.6 of this chapter or any other statute that authorizes a governing body to conduct a meeting using an electronic means of communication.

Cedar Lake Redevelopment Commission: Minutes of April 4, 2023

⁽²⁾ The members of the governing body recorded as either present or absent.