

# CEDAR LAKE PLAN COMMISSION SPECIAL PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES CEDAR LAKE TOWN HALL, 7408 CONSTITUTION AVENUE, CEDAR LAKE, INDIANA January 4, 2023 at 6:00 pm

# CALL TO ORDER:

Mr. Kiepura called the Plan Commission Special Public Meeting to order on Wednesday, January 4, 2023, at 6:00 pm with its members attending on-site. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

# ROLL CALL:

**Members Present:** Robert Carnahan; John Foreman; Richard Sharpe; Heather Dessauer; Chuck Becker; Greg Parker and John Kiepura. A quorum was attained. **Also present:** Don Oliphant, Town Engineer; David Austgen, Town Attorney; Ashley Abernathy, Planning Director; Chris Salatas, Town Manager; and Cheryl Hajduk, Recording Secretary. **Absent**: none

## 1. Nomination and Appointment of Officers a. President

Mr. Kiepura stated the first order of business was for the nomination and appointment of the President for the Plan Commission and asked if there were any nominations. A nomination was made by Mr. Sharpe and seconded by Mr. Parker to nominate Mr. Kiepura as President of the Plan Commission. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

Mr. CarnahanAyeMr. ForemanAyeMr. SharpeAyeMs. DessauerAyeMr. ParkerAyeMr. KiepuraAye

#### **b.** Vice President

Mr. Kiepura stated the order of business was for the nomination of the Vice President for the Plan Commission. A nomination was made by Ms. Dessauer and seconded by Mr. Sharpe to appoint Mr. Parker as Vice President of the Plan Commission. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

Mr. Carnahan Aye Mr. Foreman Aye Mr. Sharpe Aye Ms. Dessauer Aye Mr. Parker Aye Mr. Kiepura Aye Plan Commission Special Public Meeting January 4, 2023

#### c. Secretary

Mr. Kiepura stated the order of business was for the nomination of the Secretary for the Plan Commission. A nomination was made by Mr. Foreman and seconded by Ms. Dessauer to appoint Mr. Sharpe as Secretary of the Plan Commission. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

Mr. CarnahanAyeMr. ForemanAyeMr. SharpeAyeMs. DessauerAyeMr. ParkerAyeMr. KiepuraAye

# 2. Appointments a. Board of Zoning Appeals

Mr. Kiepura stated the next order of business was for the appointment of a member of the Plan Commission to the Board of Zoning Appeals. A nomination was made by Mr. Foreman and seconded by Ms. Dessauer to nominate Mr. Kiepura to be appointed to the Board of Zoning Appeals. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

Mr. CarnahanAyeMr. ForemanAyeMr. SharpeAyeMs. DessauerAyeMr. BeckerAyeMr. ParkerAyeMr. KiepuraAye

# b. Unsafe Building Department

Mr. Kiepura stated the next order of business was for the appointment of a member of the Plan Commission to the Unsafe Building Department. A nomination was made by Mr. Sharpe and seconded by Mr. Foreman to nominate Ms. Dessauer to be appointed to the Unsafe Building Department. Motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote:

Mr. Carnahan	Aye
Mr. Foreman	Aye
Mr. Sharpe	Aye
Ms. Dessauer	Aye
Mr. Becker	Aye
Mr. Parker	Aye
Mr. Kiepura	Aye

Adjournment: Mr. Kiepura adjourned the Special Public Meeting at 6:06 pm.

Plan Commission Special Public Meeting January 4, 2023

# TOWN OF CEDAR LAKE PLAN COMMISSION

John Kiepura, President

Greg Parker, Vice President

Richard Sharpe, Secretary

John Foreman, Member

Robert Carnahan, Member

Heather Dessauer, Member

Chuck Becker, Member

ATTEST:

Cheryl Hajduk, Recording Secretary

The Minutes of the Cedar Lake Plan Commission Special Public Meeting are transcribed pursuant to IC 5-14-15-4(b) which states: (b) As the meeting progresses, the following memoranda shall be kept:

(1) The date, time, and place of the meeting.

(4) A record of all votes taken by individual members if there is a roll call.

Cedar Lake Plan Commission: January 4, 2023, Minutes of the Special Public Meeting

<sup>(2)</sup> The members of the governing body recorded as either present or absent.

<sup>(3)</sup> The general substance of all matters proposed, discussed, or decided.

<sup>(5)</sup> Any additional information required under section 3.5 or 3.6 of this chapter or any other statute that authorizes a governing body to conduct a meeting using an electronic means of communication.