

# CEDAR LAKE PLAN COMMISSION SPECIAL PUBLIC MEETING MINUTES CEDAR LAKE TOWN HALL, 7408 CONSTITUTION AVENUE, CEDAR LAKE, INDIANA January 5, 2022 at 7:00 pm

#### **CALL TO ORDER:**

Mr. Wilkening called the Plan Commission Special Work Session to order on Wednesday, January 5, 2022, at 7:04 pm with its members attending on-site and remotely. The Pledge of Allegiance was recited by all.

#### **ROLL CALL:**

Members Present: John Foreman (via Zoom at 8:11 pm); Richard Sharpe; Chuck Becker (via Zoom); John Kiepura, Vice President; Jerry Wilkening, President. A quorum was attained. **Also present:** Don Oliphant, Town Engineer; David Austgen, Town Attorney; Jill Murr, Planning Director Rick Eberly, Town Manager (via Zoom); and Ashley Abernathy, Recording Secretary. **Absent**: Robert Carnahan; and Heather Dessauer.

#### 1. Nomination and Appointment of Officers

#### a. President

Mr. Wilkening stated the first order of business was for the nomination and appointment of the President for the Plan Commission and asked if there were any nominations. A nomination was made by Mr. Kiepura and seconded by Mr. Sharpe to nominate Mr. Wilkening as President of the Plan Commission. The nomination passed unanimously by roll-call vote.

Mr. Sharpe Aye Mr. Becker Aye Mr. Kiepura Aye Mr. Wilkening Aye

#### **b.** Vice President

Mr. Wilkening stated the order of business was for the nomination of the Vice President for the Plan Commission. A nomination was made by Mr. Sharpe and seconded by Mr. Wilkening to appoint Mr. Kiepura as Vice President of the Plan Commission. The nomination passed unanimously by roll-call vote.

Mr. Sharpe Aye Mr. Becker Aye Mr. Kiepura Aye Mr. Wilkening Aye

#### 2. Appointments

#### a. Board of Zoning Appeals

Mr. Wilkening stated the next order of business was for the appointment of a member of the Plan Commission to the Board of Zoning Appeals. A nomination was made by Mr. Sharpe and seconded by Mr. Wilkening to nominate Mr. Kiepura to be appointed to the Board of Zoning Appeals. The motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote.

Mr. Sharpe Aye Mr. Becker Aye Mr. Kiepura Aye Mr. Wilkening Aye

#### **b.** Unsafe Building Department

Mr. Wilkening stated the next order of business was for the appointment of a member of the Plan Commission to the Unsafe Building Department. A nomination was made by Mr. Kiepura and seconded by Mr. Wilkening to nominate Mr. Sharpe to be appointed to the Unsafe Building Department. The motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote.

Mr. Sharpe Aye Mr. Becker Aye Mr. Kiepura Aye Mr. Wilkening Aye

#### 3. Acknowledgement of Christopher B. Burke Engineering, LLC Letter

Mr. Wilkening stated the next order of business was for an amendment to the agenda to allow for the acknowledgement of the Christopher B. Burke Engineering, LLC letter. There is a letter from Mr. Oliphant dated January 4, 2022, regarding the stormwater project on 137<sup>th</sup> Avenue and Lauerman Street. This was a contingency on a PUD that appears to be in order.

Mr. Wilkening stated an inspection was done by the Building Department and a letter was received from Mr. Oliphant regarding this item being completed but needing some follow-up.

Mr. Wilkening asked Mr. Oliphant if there was a date the follow-up inspection would need to be completed by. Mr. Oliphant responded he left it as Spring 2022, due to not being able to give an exact date when they will be satisfied with the work.

Mr. Wilkening asked at this point it is acknowledgement of completion. Mr. Oliphant responded in the affirmative.

Mr. Austgen advised having the work completed inspected on or before the June 2022 deadline and to have this be an Update Item for the June 2022 Plan Commission meeting.

Mr. Wilkening entertained a motion for the acknowledgement of the Christopher B. Burke Engineering letter. A motion was made by Mr. Kiepura and seconded by Mr. Becker to acknowledge the Christopher B. Burke Engineering letter dated January 4, 2022, regarding the completion of the Cedar Lake Ministries of their Phase 1 work. The motion passed unanimously by roll-call vote.

## Plan Commission Special Public Meeting January 5, 2022

Mr. Sharpe Aye
Mr. Becker Aye
Mr. Kiepura Aye
Mr. Wilkening Aye

Adjournment: Mr. Wilkening adjourned the Special Public Meeting at 7:13 pm.

### Plan Commission Special Public Meeting January 5, 2022

#### TOWN OF CEDAR LAKE PLAN COMMISSION

Jerry Wilkening, President
John Kiepura, Vice President
Richard Sharpe, Member
John Foreman, Member
Robert Carnahan, Member
Heather Dessauer, Member
Chuck Becker, Member
ATTEST:
Ashley Abernathy, Recording Secretary

The Minutes of the Cedar Lake Plan Commission Special Public Meeting are transcribed pursuant to IC 5-14-15-4(b) which states:

- (b) As the meeting progresses, the following memoranda shall be kept:
- (1) The date, time, and place of the meeting.
- (2) The members of the governing body recorded as either present or absent.
- (3) The general substance of all matters proposed, discussed, or decided.
- (4) A record of all votes taken by individual members if there is a roll call.
- (5) Any additional information required under section 3.5 or 3.6 of this chapter or any other statute that authorizes a governing body to conduct a meeting using an electronic means of communication.

Cedar Lake Plan Commission: January 5, 2022, Minutes of the Special Public Meeting